Low-fatty Banany Muffins

So two weeks ago we were off to the south for a visit with my folks and sister and I was trying to use up those ingredients in the fridge that wouldn’t be so fresh when we returned, ie: eggs, yogurt and milk. I’ve adapted this recipe from a great book my dad gave to me from his cookbook library (and I’m sure he regrets it) Lee Bailey’s “Country Desserts”. I’ve had it for years now and every now and then I pull it off the shelf. The low-fat version is moist and spongey and not overly sweet. I used muffin papers and it did stick quite a bit so you may want to grease up the pan well and hope for the best. They freeze well too for 1-2 months.

*Banana tip: Don’t toss your brown bananas! Put them in a ziploc bag and pop em in the freezer. Thaw them out and use them later. Great for smoothies and baked goods.

RECIPE

2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 egg
2/3 c. milk (I used fat free)
6 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1/2 c Stonyfield Banilla low-fat yogurt
2 Tbsp brown sugar
3 ripe bananas
1/3 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease or line a 12 muffin tin.
Sift together flour, powder, and salt. Set aside. Combine egg, milk, yogurt and butter in a bowl, mix well. Beat in brown sugar. Add dry ingredients and mix slightly. Add bananas and nuts. Don’t overmix, it should be a bit lumpy. Divide among the cups.
Bake for 20 – 25 min. or until cake tester comes out clean.

IMG_1669

One thought on “Low-fatty Banany Muffins

Leave a Reply

