Happy New Year……..I’m back with bread.

Okay, so I know all 3 of you missed me but I’m back to continue posting. The holidays were busy and a bit overwhelming so I had to take a little hiatus to recoup. Of course, I’ll be starting off with a recipe I made before the holidays but you’ll just have to deal.

So I was booking it on the treadmill one morning in December and Martha had on Jim Lahey of Sullivan Street Bakery, making this carrot bread that looked real yummy. I unhooked the ipod headphones and hooked up to the audio to listen to everything he had to say. While working in the city, what 7, 8 years ago, I used to grab his various pizza squares for lunch or to enjoy on my walk to the path. They were delicious and kinda far from conventional pizza. Zucchini, potato or mushroom, oh they were all good. So anyway, he was on Martha promoting his new book, “my bread”, and his unconventional technique of no knead bread. So I bought it, the book, and a cast iron pot to cook the bread in, as he instructs in the book. The book is a great read and the bread is really delicious, and if you have the time, super easy to make. It’s all about the rising. And the best part, he has his pizza recipes in the book as well and I’m sure I’ll be posting several of those soon (I’ll be making a couple for superbowl sunday, what up!)

Whole Wheat Bread (Adapted from My Bread, by Jim Lahey)

Formula:
  • 2-1/4 cups (400g) bread flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1½ cups (300g or 12 oz) water
  • ¼ teaspoon (1g) yeast
  • 1¼ teaspoons (8g) salt
  • olive oil (for coating)
  • extra flour
Equipment:
  • Two medium mixing bowls
  • 4-6 qt. pot (Pyrex glass, Le Creuset cast iron, or ceramic)
  • Wooden spoon or spatula (optional)
  • Plastic wrap
  • Cotton dish towels (not terrycloth), 2 or 3
Process:

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add water and incorporate by hand or with a wooden spoon or spatuala for 30 sec. to 1 min. Lightly coat the inside of second medium bowl with olive oil and place the dough in the bowl. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and let the dought rest 12 hrs. at room temperature (approx. 65-72’F).

Remove the dough from the bowl and fold once or twice. Let the dough rest 15 min. in the bowl or on the work surface. Next, shape the dough into ball. Generously coat a cotton towel with flour, wheat bran, or commeal; place the dough seam side down on the towel and dust with flour. Cover the dough with a cotton towel and let rise 1-2 hrs. at room temperature, until more than doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 500’F. Place the pot in the oven at leat ½ hr. prior to baking to preheat. Once the dough has more than doubled in volume, remove the pot from the oven and place the dough in the pot seam side up. Cover with the lid and bake 30 min. Then, remove the lid and bake 15-30min. uncovered till a dark brown. Turn out of pot onto rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

