Turkey Cheese steak

So I’m working out and trying to eat right but I’m failing miserably with the latter. I’m slowly, I mean quickly, gaining back the baby weight that I spent the past year losing and I’m feeling pretty bummed. So, I’m trying the find ways to satisfy my soon to be 20 pounder (meaning the baby, not my butt) while satisfying my insatiable appetite for anything salty and greasy. Here’s my solution. While working at the bakery, Felice and I were always experimenting with the myriad of ingredients in that kitchen. So we made our own version of a low-fat cheese steak using turkey instead of roast beef. It’s really quite delicious and satisfying so I made my own version today using what I had in the fridge. You can do the same and add your own components: onions, tomato, mushrooms, hot peppers, whatever.

Ingredients

2-1/2 to 3 oz. sliced turkey, sliced up
2 Tbsp chopped peppers, I used red and yellow but any will work
1 Light Laughing Cow Swiss cheese wedge
1/4 to 1/2 an avocado, sliced
2 pieces of whole wheat or whole grain bread, toasted
Worchestire sauce
pepper
spray oil

Directions

1. Heat small frying pan, spray with oil, add peppers and saute till they start to brown, about 5 minutes. Add turkey, a pinch of pepper, and 4 – 5 dashes of Worchestire sauce. Toss together till warmed through. Cut cheese wedge in half and add to top of turkey. Cover cheese with turkey. Remove from heat.

2. Top toast with sliced avocado. Pile turkey mixture on top. Cover with toasted bread and slice in half. Eat while hot.

Leave a Reply

