Three feet of snow ice cream

Whenever it snows, it always reminds me of growing up as a kid in NJ. One of the best memories I have is getting together with all the neighborhood kids and sledding all day long. My neighborhood was full of kids, all age groups, but we all hung out and got along. And when they declared a snow day, everyone would bundle up and meet up at someone’s house, preferably a house on a hill, and begin a day of sledding. There were really only two good hills in the neighborhood, ours and the Davis’, and by the end of the day we had sled jumps built, snowmen, sometimes forts, and we were soaking wet. Since we’d end up at the Davis’ hill, we’d end up in Mrs. Davis’ laundry room, stripping down and throwing our wet gear in the dryer. We’d have some hot chocolate, rest up, and get back out there when our clothes were dry. We never really felt the cold.

If we were lucky, and it snowed on the weekend, my dad would take us to Round Valley Reservoir to sled the big hill. I swear, you could probably ski down this hill it was so big, a quick ride, but you could. We’d trek up the hill dragging our snow tubes to the very top. I seem to remember a danger/caution sign somewhere up there but that was ignored. The ride down was quick and if you were lucky you’d spin around a couple times in your tube. Then the long trek back up the hill again that seemed to take forever. I loved it.

This past Wednesday and Thursday we were graced with three feet of snow in addition to the six inches that were already on the ground. Ya, we got a lot. And it wouldn’t have been so bad if the power didn’t go out too Thursday night. We made the best of it, lit the fireplace, had dinner and breakfast with our neighbors by candlelight, but the 55 degree temp in the house was not really comfortable. But the power did come back on last night and we were so happy, clean dishes, clean clothes, and clean people.

With this big snowfall, it reminded me of this snow ice cream one of the neighborhood moms made for us when we were kids. I can remember thinking I was eating acid rain but it tasted pretty good so what did I care. I think she may have used eggs too which may have not been very smart either but I still ate it. I was a kid, what did I know about salmonella poisoning. But I found a version of the recipe that incorporates three ingredients, none of which is eggs. And with three feet plus of snow surrounding my house, I was pretty sure I could find some clean white stuff. By the way, this recipe is less like ice cream and more like flavored shave ice but I like the idea of snow ice cream better.

Ingredients

Big bowl of clean snow (about 8 cups)

1 can of sweetened condensed milk

1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients together till combined. Spoon into bowls and consume, slowly, you don’t want a brain freeze, reminisce.

30 thoughts on “Three feet of snow ice cream

  1. However racing season is happy time for people living in Bac
    Ha and around. You can seek recommendations from friends, colleagues, or other equestrian enthusiasts.
    Several of the rocking horse pozycjonowanie stron plans
    include things like steel hardware and slats that could pose difficulties for younger youngsters.

  2. Tracking progress is the best way to stay organized and to know how much time
    you will need to get ready for the baby shower.
    Or would restaurant certificates, movie passes and gag gifts
    be more practical. Baby nail clippers – A baby’s finger and toe nails grow at
    an alarming rate.

  3. But that doesn’t mean for ONE SECOND that I don’t believe how vital
    it is for every horse owner to develop skills in training a horse on some level.

    Receive e-mail alerts when new articles are available.
    It all begins with Thunder Over Louisville, held two weeks before the Derby itself.

  4. If you are Latina, J Lo or Eva Mendez would be the best choice.
    But don’t worry; there’s a solution for every problem. By action, affiliate marketing
    means promoting online merchants for commission.

  5. If you are seriously injured in an auto accident there are many things that are
    taken into consideration. A driver can be impaired even if alcohol
    is not the drug which includes impeded the decision making of the individual.
    The heart of this chapter though is in the decision to join the
    science fair.

  6. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Selrom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educcative and
    interesting, and wikthout a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I found this during my search foor something
    concerning this.

  7. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that
    I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  8. There are facilities at the city park though
    I have never found them to be open. You will find 70 obstacles to handle along with bonus stage, aid by retina three
    dimensional graphic. How do you make my boyfriend commit to our relationship and me the way
    you want him to.

  9. Packages can be tailored to suit a specific budget however they are
    typically set in two price brackets at executive and luxury.
    Interior decorators and amateurs also employ their expertise on house enhancement to render real estate staging solutions.

    Investor makes its way into a rent to own agreement for let’s say $100,000,
    rehabs the property in the range of $20,000 and currently the market cost is about
    $135,000 the investor can sell the right to purchase for $35,000 so the
    new purchaser would close with the original supplier for
    $100,000.

  10. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward too seeking more
    of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your web site
    in my social networks!

  11. My family members all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, however I know I am getting know-how all the time by reading such fastidious articles or reviews.

  12. If you cannot pull yourself away from a game, talk to a doctor.
    If you are not familiar with the idea, a candy crush saga trainer.
    Note that fudge won’t spread if you can get rid of at least one square per turn.

  13. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with useful information to work on. You have performed an impressive task and our whole neighborhood will be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

