I’m loving this right now……Pear Salad.

After losing all the baby weight (and then some) from Riley, it was a bit of a shock to gain back 15 pounds in 5-1/2 months with baby #2. So I’ve been trying my best to eat right and choose wisely when it comes to food. But those sweets keep calling my name and all I want is pasta. So lately for lunch I’ve been making myself salads. But I really hate salads, at least those salads that have tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce. Gross. Where’s the flavor and excitement in that? And I really don’t dig on tomatoes raw like that anyway. So I’ve been mixing it up with mixed greens; taking some ideas from restaurants I’ve been to and cooking shows I’ve seen. Here’s one of my favorites and its so easy to prepare.

Ingredients

2 to 3 cups organic mixed greens

1/2 ripe pear, cut into bite size pieces

1 to 2 Tbsp toasted pine nuts (to toast: put in pan over medium heat, toss till golden brown)

Pecorino Romano cheese

Lemon Vinegarette (1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, 1/2 cup olive oil, pinch of kosher salt and pepper to taste, whisk together)

Directions

Put mixed greens in a bowl. Top with pear and pine nuts and add 1 to 2 Tbsp vinegarette. Toss to coat. Using a vegetable peeler, shave Romano cheese onto salad. As much or as little as you like. Eat it out of the bowl.

One thought on “I’m loving this right now……Pear Salad.

  1. First of all, congrats on doing such a great job in loosing all your “baby wt” (and then some)….it’s NOT always easy to do! Secondly, congrats on your pregnancy now. 🙂 Thirdly, LOVE the thought/looks of this salad!!!! Can’t wait to make it ASAP myself!

Leave a Reply

