Transformation

Each year Gold’s Gym holds their Transformation contest to encourage their members to reach and maintain their fitness goals. Last year I couldn’t sign up because I was pregnant so I’ve signed up to participate this year. I was trying to decide if I should post this on my blog but thought my process and results may encourage others to start a fitness program. So I’m putting it all out there. I’ll be posting recipes, weekly weight and body fat results, and exercise/training regimes. For those of you following the transformation program at Gold’s in Fishkill, I wish you luck and hard work. If you  to my blog you’ll receive an email each time I post. To find recipes I’m making during Transformation click on the Transformation category.

My story:

I have two kids, one 3-1/2 year old and a 5 month old. I worked out while pregnant up until the 8th month. I was doing 1 hour group training sessions two times a week and taking aerobic dance classes and yoga three days a week. I took the last month off and had the baby at the end of August. The birth was rough, no drugs, no time, but if it wasn’t for being in pretty good shape, it would have been horrible. I recovered much faster this time than with my first child. I gained about 30 pounds with this pregnancy and lost about 20 almost immediately. I watched what I ate and was breastfeeding so that really helped. After the baby turned 3 months I was back at the gym, jogging on the treadmill and taking classes again.  Transformation started January 13 and ends April 7. Gold’s took before pictures and measurements to start the process. I won’t post these till the end. I will say, so far I’ve lost 3 pounds and about 2% body fat. My goal is to lose 10 pounds and tone my mushy body, especially my abs. To reach this goal I’ve hired a trainer, Fabrice, twice a  week, to basically kick my ass into shape. Believe me, he does. I’m usually sore for a couple of days after each session. He’s also given me a nutrition plan: proteins at every meal, low carbs, low sugar, low sodium, and lots of water. So I pretty much eat the same things everyday. I’m getting bored so I’ve found several snacks and recipes that incorporate everything on the diet. I’ll share them with you each week as well as my results each week. I hope my recipes and tips will help others on this journey. It’s tough. As you can tell through my bio and recipes, I’m a dessert lover and that is the absolute worst part of it for me. I’ve always felt the need for something sweet to eat after a meal. I’m sure I’m not the only one. So there are some items I love that curb that sweet tooth urge.

From left to right:

Chocolate protein shake for that nighttime fix. I also use the vanilla flavor in my Irish Oatmeal in the morning. I got this one at Target.

Archer Farms Mixed Raw Nuts also bought at Target. It has them all, cashews, hazelnuts, walnuts, pistachios, and almonds. They have a great nut/trail mix section.

Kix cereal, good for the kid, yummy to snack on, low sugar.

Kashi GoLean Crisp, not the best for sugar content but not the worst. I used to eat this every morning but have since switched to Irish Oatmeal. Now I use this on my yogurt instead of granola.

Natural Creamy Peanut Butter on Multigrain Rice cakes. I’ll have one of these cakes with maybe 1 Tbsp. peanut butter on it. I don’t go overboard. I got the Archer Farms peanut butter at Target but you can get natural unsalted peanut butter at any grocery store. Better yet, grind your own.

Chobani plain non-fat Greek Yogurt with GoLean Crisp, the best filling snack ever. It’s so satisfying and I promise you, the plain variety is not sour at all. I got the vanilla one by mistake one time and I was so upset. It was good, but had sugar. Maybe add a tsp of honey for a little sweetness.

Emerald Cinnamon Roast Almonds in the 100 calorie packs. Okay so this one isn’t pictured because I ate them all but the raw almonds are good too. I warn you though, you’ll want to eat several packs once you try one so have some self control. My trainer tells me the cocoa ones are the bomb too.

Think Thin protein bars, these are really good. It’s difficult to find any protein bars that have no sugar and these are really tasty. They are also available in smaller 100 calorie portions. Half the size of a regular bar. I found these at Trader Joes.

Vanilla Honey Energy bites. Weird looking huh? I thought so too. I found these at the natural food market (Nature’s Pantry here) in the bulk/dry goods section. They had several varieties but these had the least amount of sugar and the most protein. There’s only 2 in a serving so its nice for a quicky bite.

Not pictured: Oceanspray dried cranberries. Okay these do have sugar but I usually have just a handful to ease that craving and I’m good. Plus they are really yummy on salads. Lowfat Cottage Cheese, who knew something so lumpy could have so much protein, but its growing on me.

One thought on “Transformation

Leave a Reply

