Uncle Danny’s White Chicken Chili

Okay, he’s not my uncle, he’s a friends uncle, and his white chicken chili is really good. I made a low-fat version that I’ll note in the recipe’s ingredients below. It certainly didn’t taste as rich but it was a satisfying. This is comfort food right here. I should note, this was once of the foods I actually ate that was served at the superbowl party this year. It seemed the least destructive to my diet. Well, this and one of Mrs. Zep’s meatballs. Can’t pass those up, no matter what.

Ingredients

1 box (32 oz.) chicken stock (I used low-sodium)

3 (14.5 oz.ย  or 19 oz.) cans white beans, undrained

5 cups cooked chicken, rotisserie or boiled (I used all white meat)

1 jar (16 oz.) salsa, mild or medium (try to find one with the least amount of sodium)

8 oz. pepper jack cheese, grated (I used 4 oz. low-fat cheddar, shredded)

2 tsp. ground cumin

2 cloves garlic, minced

black or white pepper to taste

1/2 cup finely crushed tortilla chips (I eliminated these completely)

2 cups fresh baby spinach (not in the original recipe, I added this)

Directions

Place all ingredients except tortilla chips in a crockpot and cook on high until cheese is well incorporated. Chili may also be cooked on stove top on medium-high heat until cheese is well incorporated. When chili is ready, add finely crushed tortilla chips and let simmer for 10 minutes to thicken. Garnish with more crushed toritilla chips, cheese or sour cream.

The best sauce you'll never get to eat!

 

One thought on “Uncle Danny’s White Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

