I’m loving this right now……Gwyneth Paltrow.

Yes, that’s what I said. And I know my husband is reading this thinking, awesome. But for some reason, lately I’ve been checking out stuff with her in it. I’ve never really been into her movies. In fact, I can’t really think of any movies that I’ve seen with her in it, with the exception of the one with Brad Pitt when her head is in the box. That one I remember, but really just that part. Gruesome right? No, I’ve never really been a fan but I recently purchased her new cookbook at Sam’s Club (20 bucks. $10 less than the cover price, nice!). My Father’s Daughter is a real down to earth cookbook with recipes that include gluten-free, low-fat, and alternative ingredients. I started paging through it in the store and found myself really relating to her writing about her family, kids, husband, the whole nine. Her recipes are accessible, passed down from family members and the images are striking. I always judge cookbooks on their pictures. You gotta have nice food images. So I bought it. Then I caught myself watching Glee that night with her guest starring. What is wrong with me?  In the meantime, here’s her recipe for roasted winter veggies with a subtle mustard sauce. I like this recipe as an alternative to my classic roasted veggies. I didn’t have any sweet potatoes so I used beets instead. I think they may have overpowered the carrots and parsnips. As Riley would say, everything was pinkalicious!

Ingredients

  • 3 Tbsp real Vermont maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into 3-inch sticks about 1/2-inch thick (like french fries) (I used 2 large beets instead)
  • 4 parsnips, peeled and cut into 3-inch sticks about 1/2-inch thick (like french fries)
  • 4 carrots, peeled and cut into 3-inch sticks about 1/2-inch thick (like french fries)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Mix together the maple syrup, mustard, olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss together with the vegetables on a cookie sheet. Roast, stirring occasionally, until browned and cooked through, about 25 minutes.

Serves 4

2 thoughts on “I’m loving this right now……Gwyneth Paltrow.

    • Thanks so much. Keep checking back. Summer is a great time for delicious recipes. Can’t wait for the warm weather.

Leave a Reply

