Hudson Valley Review: Strawberry picking at Secor Farm

Located in Wappingers Falls, Secor Farms is a great place to take the kids during the week to pick fruit. I say during the week cause the weekends are probably very busy. In June, its strawberries, July & August is blueberries and peas, and October is pumpkins. There’s a small shed with a few local jams and jellies but for the most part, it’s very scaled down compared other u-pick farms in the valley. They hand you a bucket, they direct you to the best place to pick, and you go out into the hot fields and pick your fruit. The kids really love it. They basically eat the strawberries the whole time with a limited number actually hitting the bucket. Although this time around Riley actually picked them and I think it was because her buddies Brandon and Lisa joined us so they made it into a competition. Whose got the most in the bucket. Kendall and I filled our bucket with 4 pounds of strawberries. They are very tasty. Sweet and juicy but kinda small. The crop this year seemed to be very small compared to last year so it seemed like a lot more work. Plus I had Kendall strapped to my front so bending over to pick them was not pleasant. But they are delicious none the less. We paid, I think, $2.45 per pound and had to pick at least 6 pounds in order to not be charged $1 for the cardboard flat. We picked well over 6 pounds between all of us. It was a lot of work and we definitely could have gotten bigger and more strawberries at a price club or supermarket but I guess you pay for the experience and the hour or so it keeps the kids busy. Be sure topick a day that’s fairly mild. Trolling the fields, hunched over in 90 degree weather will not be fun, trust me. I should inform you though, the strawberries looked slightly less appealing when we got home. Mine were poured into a bag and my friend Chris took the open cardboard flat home and she said the same thing. They seemed to immediately begin to change color and get soft. Not sure why this is so we will have to use them up very soon before they are start to rot. Secors is located at 63 Robinson Lane in Wappingers Falls, NY. Be sure to call them to check what’s in season. They don’t have a website that I can find so get their info here.

2 thoughts on “Hudson Valley Review: Strawberry picking at Secor Farm

  1. xDxDI just got a $829.99 iPad2 for only $103.37 and my mom got a $1499.99 HDTV for only $251.92, they are both coming with USPS trmoroow. I would be an idiot to ever pay full retail prices at places like Walmart or Bestbuy. I sold a 37″ HDTV to my boss for $600 that I only paid $78.24 for.I use.

  2. I want to show some appreciation to this wteirr for rescuing me from this particular predicament. As a result of scouting through the the web and meeting suggestions which were not beneficial, I was thinking my entire life was done. Existing devoid of the approaches to the difficulties you’ve sorted out by means of your good site is a serious case, as well as ones which might have in a negative way damaged my career if I had not come across your website. Your own training and kindness in playing with all things was vital. I’m not sure what I would have done if I had not discovered such a solution like this. I’m able to now relish my future. Thank you so much for this reliable and effective guide. I won’t be reluctant to recommend your web sites to any individual who should have assistance on this subject.

Leave a Reply

