The Fruits of My Labor

So I am attempting, once again, to write on this very important blog that I hope will launch my baking career, enabling me to earn some cash once the kids are in school. That’s being blunt. So here is wonderful write up from my cousin Christine Petterson, that should have been posted last summer, but alas never made it due to my busy schedule and laziness. Sorry Christine! I’ll be posting several other recipes from her that incorporate her own garden veggies and fruits. Nice. So here’s to me getting my butt in gear and getting this blog up and running again. Take it away Christine……..

Image

Jaime, my husband, and I moved into our Seaford, Long Island home a couple of years ago.  The previous owner was an avid gardener with prize-winning blueberry jam, and left behind a large area for a vegetable garden.  In fact, when we were house-hunting, there were red and green peppers growing along a trellis, and pears were plentiful on the small scraggly tree, which was buzzing with flies.  Last summer, the garden remained dormant except for the overwhelming blackberries, two blueberry bushes, one raspberry bush and the lone pear tree.  We did harvest many berries.  The pears were a bit mealy and dry.

 Last year, however, we were more motivated to attempt a vegetable garden.  So we planted zucchini, cucumbers, eggplant, two kinds of peppers, string beans, edamame, grape tomatoes and another kind of tomato.  I used something called Bumper Crop (a type of soil) as recommended by the local nursery.  I was wary about the growth that would occur.  I didn’t think much would survive.   So far we’ve had quite an abundant harvest…mostly cucumbers and zucchini.  The tomatoes and peppers are also beginning to ripen. 

 Here’s a recipe for a one crust blueberry pie.  You can make a crust or buy a pre-made crust.  I first had this blueberry pie at an end of the year party for the faculty members of the elementary school where I teach.  Everyone brought something to share and Arlene, one my colleagues, brought this pie.  It was so yummy, I asked her for the recipe.  I’ve made the recipe often, and it usually gets rave reviews.  In the photo below I used fresh homegrown raspberries as a garnish.

 

Image

Blueberry Pie

4 cups  blueberries, fresh or frozen  (If you use frozen berries, make sure you drain the berries well so the crust does not become soggy.)

3 Tbs. corn starch

¾ cup sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

¼ cup water

1 Tbs. lemon juice

1 Tbs. butter

1 frozen or homemade pie crust shell

 Directions

  1. Prepare and cook pie crust shell.
  2. Pour 2 cups of raw blueberries in cooked pie crust shell.
  3. Mix 2 cups of blueberries, water, corn starch, sugar, salt and water in a saucepan and cook over medium heat until it is thick, clear and shiny.  Mixing constantly for about 10 minutes. 
  4. Remove mixture from heat.
  5. Add lemon juice and butter.  Stir.
  6. Pour blueberry mixture on top of raw blueberries in pie crust shell.
  7. Let cool to room temperature.
  8. Serve with ice cream or whipped cream.
Leave a Reply

