Pin 258, Roasted Sesame Chicken

I roasted two chickens this week so that I would have a generous supply of chicken for several recipes. After eating the roast chicken, I used it in a chicken noodle soup recipe. It would have been great to have two weeks ago when we were all sick with a cold. Tonight I used any white meat leftovers for this Roasted Sesame Chicken recipe I found in Health Magazine. It was luck I came upon it while sitting in my dentist’s waiting room. I knew I had almost all the ingredients at home with the exception of the green beans. I just left them out. I quickly pinned the recipe before I was called into the exam room.

It was a delicious dish with great flavor from the fresh ginger and sesame oil. And healthy too. It uses very little oil and all veggies and white meat chicken. The whole family loved it and there were no leftovers. My husband told me to definitely make this one again. Glad I pinned it. Here is the original pin.

IMG_9977

Recipe courtesy of Health Magazine

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • Pinch of crushed red pepper
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons grated, peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 medium yellow bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 12 ounces cauliflower florets
  • 8 ounces green beans, trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 3 cups coarsely chopped white meat from Roast Chicken with Pan Sauce
  • Preparation

    1. In small bowl, whisk together soy sauce, honey, sesame oil, and crushed red pepper.

    2. Heat canola oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Stir in ginger; cook until fragrant (1 minute). Add bell pepper, cauliflower, and green beans. Cook, stirring frequently, until the vegetables are crisp-tender (6-8 minutes). Add the sesame seeds and chicken and stir until heated through (1-2 minutes).

    3. Stir in the soy sauce mixture and cook until heated through (1-2 minutes). Serve hot.

257 to go………

Leave a Reply

