Pin 259, Homemade Lemon Coconut Sugar Scrub

I went to Walmart today with the intention of buying rock salt for our super icy walkway. Then I remembered this pin for Lemon Coconut Sugar Scrub using Coconut oil. After perusing Pinterest, Coconut oil seems to the be the most used, talked about, and pinned natural ingredient with the most uses. That and baking soda and vinegar. But those are not as fun to purchase, and I already have them. So I picked up a cheap container of Coconut oil. The cheapest I’ve seen out there. I already had the two other ingredients, lemon and sugar, so making this scrub was easy. Following the instructions on the website thatswhatshesaid.net, (great web name btw) here’s what I did. You can also check out the original pin here.IMG_9938

Ingredients Needed:

  • 2 to 2 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of Coconut Oil
  • 1 small lemon to yield 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • as much lemon zest as you can get off of your lemon
  • jar or container to put your scrub in

I started by mixing the coconut oil and 2 cups sugar together in a bowl using a handheld mixer. I added lemon juice and lemon zest till completely mixed and grainy in texture. You can add more sugar if you feel it needs it. I put it in my container (a plastic container that held cotton candy. Thought it was perfect since it did hold sugar at one time). Not the sexiest container but water proof for the shower.

IMG_9939 IMG_9940

I used the scrub today in the shower, all over my legs and arms and it feel great. A little rough at first but after rinsing, my skin was so soft. The scent was nice too. It reminded me of a lemon cookie I make. I plan to use it a couple times a week to exfoliate my winter dry skin. I completely recommend taking the short amount of time and the little bit of ingredients to make this. It would make a really nice gift too, just in a better container.

IMG_9944 IMG_9946

On an unrelated note, an update on my river rock boot mat: only one day and the two year old was in the rocks. We’ll see how long they last.

IMG_9936

258 to go…………

Leave a Reply

