Pin 253, Recycled T-shirt Infinity Scarf

IMG_0072

I love the look and warmth of a scarf around my neck. And this pin offers a very simple way to create that look by using an old t-shirt that you probably have sitting in your closet. You do, however, need to use a large or extra large T-shirt, maybe you can snag one from your man. Preferably a plain one unless it has a cool logo or pattern you want to see. Unfortunately I only had one usable shirt I was willing to part with so I ran out to the local Goodwill (I love that place!) for some sweet, cheap T’s. I like the idea of recycling one rather than buying a new one at the craft store. Plus used ones always have that lived in feel. Here’s what I found:

IMG_0028

Four t-shirts, 1 blue, 1 heather blue, 1 heather gray, and 1 heather green. All for the insane price of $5.50. They are not bad quality either. Two are Gap and one is Banana Republic. Some decent finds I must say. And I chose shirts that were worn in and very stretchy so that I could stretch them even more after slicing them up. I almost didn’t want to cut them. But then I did anyway. Be sure to wash them before, especially if they are thrift store finds. So here are the simple instructions that I followed as per myworldmadebyhand.blogspot.com and here is the original pin.

Materials Needed:

T-shirt (website recommends  XL or XXL, she used XL 53% polyester, 47% cotton blend T, I used XL 100% cotton)

scissors

Directions:

Lay the shirt on a flat surface, smoothing out any lumps and keeping the edges together. Cut a straight line (or as straight as you can), from armpit to armpit.

IMG_0034 IMG_0036 IMG_0041Next cut along the bottom to remove the seam.

IMG_0042Now stretch the hell out of it. You will have a large loop so put your foot in one end and push. Stretch as much as you want, once you wash it you’ll have to stretch it again. It’s all good though. Now start digging through your clothing donation bag that’s sitting in the corner of your bedroom and get cutting.

PS: DON’T throw away your scraps! I’ll show you what you can do with them next week!

IMG_0078

252 to go………

18 thoughts on “Pin 253, Recycled T-shirt Infinity Scarf

  1. Great work! This is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared
    around the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this put up higher!
    Come on over and seek advice from my site .
    Thanks =)

  2. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this
    post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  3. It is appropriate time to make some plans for
    the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things
    or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.

    I wish to read even more things about it!

  4. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but
    I’m not seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.
    Kudos!

  5. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I recieve four emails with
    the exact same comment. Perhaps there is an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  6. I got this web site from my friend who informed me
    about this website and now this time I am visiting this web page and reading very informative articles at this time.

  7. Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the
    net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get irked while people think about worries
    that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  8. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve
    really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again soon!

  9. Greetings, I do think your site could be having internet browser compatibility issues.

    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however,
    if opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely
    wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, excellent website!

  10. It does not matter if you’re an expert at studying Mortgage Advice Bristol or even are
    just starting to work at learning. The strategy you choose on now has in purchase to be appropriate to your existing commencing position.
    You will possibly be glad to understand that there is quite a whole lot more that a person can
    learn; we have just began to instruct you. If an individual are, undergo
    to http://ukmortgageadvice.org.uk/independent-mortgage-advisers-expert-mortgage-advice-brokers-in-bristol/ as properly as check
    out all associated with the trustworthy tactics which can support you
    over the extended haul. Do not necessarily help to make
    Mortgage Advice Bristol more complicated than it provides to
    be, because sensible remedies carry out exist.

Leave a Reply

