Pin 252, Apple Cinnamon Crock Pot Oatmeal

IMG_0089

Last night I was trying to choose which pin to post for today. I have a couple I’m working on. But I decided to try this crock pot recipe for oatmeal. I thought it would make Monday morning getting ready for school a little easier. Well, it didn’t really do that since my 5-year-old wanted waffles and yogurt. However the 2-year-old, who always eats mine or my husband’s morning oatmeal, did eat it. Sort of. She ate some and then smeared the rest all over the table. Which is very typical for her these days. She’s into cleaning the table and her hands with food. Always fun to clean up.

The recipe from the original pin and the website bestfoodpins.com, is very simple but not very detailed as far as ingredients go. I always have 3 minute instant oatmeal in the house. I should have used just rolled oats or maybe even steel-cut oats. The oatmeal came out very mushy with very little texture. Also, I used my apple slicer that peels and slices apples very thin. Next time I will peel and cut the apple into chunks so I can tell when I’m biting into one. I made a few other substitutions that you’ll see below for a low-fat/high protein version. All in all it is a delicious oatmeal with a nice warm cinnamon apple aroma to wake up to. It’s a great timesaver in preparation, but not so much in cleanup. I’ll be soaking this crock pot most of the day.

IMG_0091

Doesn’t that look appealing?

Makes about 4 servings

Ingredients

2 apples, peeled, cored and cut into chunks

1/3 cup brown sugar (substitute 1 to 2 scoops of vanilla protein for low-fat version)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 cups rolled oats

4 cups water (substitute 1 cup with skim milk for added calcium)

Directions

Put apples, brown sugar (or protein powder), and cinnamon in bottom of crock pot. Add rolled oats and water/milk on top. Do not mix. Cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours.

 

251 to go………

 

 

One thought on “Pin 252, Apple Cinnamon Crock Pot Oatmeal

  1. That i bring my oreo 5s university and even available my home. I love carrying them in winter since they are thus designer! Manged to get it intended for X-mas around ’08 as being a finished amaze. I didnrrrt genuinely carry these folks for that first year, however right now I will not stand up definitely not having them all. My partner and i carry these products during the summer also šŸ™‚ The only bad aspect of acquire is they come to feel too big. That is since they will be an 14 i take a ten.

Leave a Reply

