Pin 248, 247, 246, 245, Natural Skin Care Made in the Kitchen

IMG_0198

My skin has been a hot mess since High School. There I said it. I can’t remember a time when I haven’t had a little zit somewhere on my face. I’ve used every product out there and for some reason have avoided going to the dermatologist. I think that’s just laziness really. That and I don’t want to pay for whatever crazy manufactured products they’ll prescribe. Lately my face has been breaking out like crazy and after perusing Pinterest, I’ve found its probably hormonal. So, I thought I would eliminate all the products I was currently using and replace them with natural ingredients found in my pantry and medicine cabinet. Since I am just starting to use these tonight I will have to report back in a week or two with the results of my “experiement”. I am optimistic. Below you’ll find what I’ll now be using. You can find more information on the original pin’s websites. Here’s what I’ll be using: Wish me luck!

IMG_0214Oil Cleansing

courtesy of healthydiaries.com

reasons to use:

  1. Oil dissolves oil
  2. It will dissolve the oil that has hardened throughout the day and stuck in your pores
  3. Naturally keeps your skin supple and moisturized
  4. Easily removes make up
  5. Cheaper than buying facial products
  6. It’s a cleanser, make-up remover and moisturizer all in one!
  7. Helps even out skin tone
  8. 100% Natural

Ingredients: Mix together in small bottle, shaking is best

3 Tbsp castor oil

1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

How to use: only at night, in the morning simply rinse with water

  1. Let your faucet run, so the water gets pretty hot. (Mine takes a minute)
  2. Gently rub a quarter size amount on your face for about a minute. Make sure to massage it in and not scrub it.
  3. Run a washcloth under the faucet. (You want the water to be hot enough, but not too hot where you’ll burn yourself. I usually get it really hot and slowly test it on my face. If it’s to hot I just air it out for a second. This part is important, because it has to be hot enough to cause a steaming effect that helps to remove the dirt form your pores.) Leave the washcloth over your face until it’s cooled down, about a minute.
  4. Wash your hands
  5. Gently wipe off the oil using the washcloth.
  6. Your skin will probably look nice an supple and will probably be a little red from the steam.

Price:  Olive oil: depends on brand but I used California Olive Ranch, $8.00. Castor Oil (16 oz.) was $6.25

IMG_0215

Witch Hazel Toner

courtesy of ramblingsofahappyhomemaker.com

reasons to use:

  1. It is a strong anti-oxidant and astringent, making it wonderful for treating acne.
  2. It is also used to treat psoriasis and eczema,  and heal wrinkles.
  3. It treats bruises, insect bites and varicose veins.

How to use:

To implement witch hazel into your skincare routine, simply pour it into a small spray bottle. After you wash and dry your face, spritz it on before applying your moisturizer. Note: You don’t want to let it dry before moisturizing. Putting moisturizer on a slightly damp face will lock in moisture much better.

Witch Hazel: $3.29

IMG_0221

Three Ingredient Nightly Face Cream

courtesy of eatingbirdfood.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2½ tablespoons cocoa butter
  • ½ tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

Directions:

  1. Melt coconut oil first by sticking your container/jar in a bowl of hot water.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a small pan or double boiler and heat just until the cocoa butter melts.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Allow mixture to cool slightly, place in a small sealed container/jar and shake vigorously, let it sit for a few minutes and shake again.
  5. Depending on the temperature, the mixture may solidify similar to how coconut oil/cocoa butter do on their own. In the winter the cream will usually be solid. You just have to use your finger to get a little bit out of the jar, rub it around in your palms or between your fingers to warm it up a bit and then apply.

Coconut Oil (12 oz.): $7.50, cocoa butter (3.5 oz.): $4.99, Olive oil: same as above $8.00

IMG_0211

Eye Cream

courtesy of ramblingsofahappyhomemaker.com

Ingredients:

Coconut oil and Vitamin E capsules (I used a Vitamin E stick instead)

Directions:

  1. Fill your container with coconut oil.  It is solid at room temperature and doesn’t begin to melt until it reaches 76 degrees Fahrenheit.  So, at this point I put it in the microwave for just a couple of seconds until it begins to melt.
  2. Next, you poke a hole in 2-3 Vitamin E capsules and add to the melted coconut oil. For Vitamin E stick, use 1/2 and melt with coconut oil.
  3. Use a tooth pick or wooden skewer and blend them together.  At this point I put the cream in the refrigerator to become solid again.  After that happens there is no need to keep it refrigerated.  The oils will not become rancid.

Coconut Oil (12 oz.): $7.50, Vitamin E stick: $1.50

IMG_0219Bonus, to be Pinned: Lip Gloss

I made this for Riley for Christmas because she loves lip gloss. I’ve made this years ago while in High School and I love it. You can use any old lipstick and mix it with others to make that perfect shade. I’d love to add an essential oil for a little flavor and scent but I have yet to do that.

Ingredients:

  • Vaseline
  • lipstick
  • essential oil, optional

Directions:

  1. Measure out Vaseline according to your container’s volume measurement. Put into saucepan over low heat.
  2. Add lipstick and stir until all is melted. The more you use the less translucent the gloss with be. The less you use, the lighter the color will be. Add essential oil, if using, off heat.
  3. Pour liquid into container and put into refrigerator till solid. Use and love.

Vaseline, 13 oz: $4.50, lipstick: depends on brand

Just a note: I purchased all the containers at Walmart in the travel toiletries section, all were $1.00. The night cream container was in the craft/jewelry section at $2.00 for a stack of 4.

244 to go……..

3 thoughts on “Pin 248, 247, 246, 245, Natural Skin Care Made in the Kitchen

  1. Superb post however , I was wondering if you could write
    a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Appreciate it!

  2. Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.

    The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

