Pin 239, Bruleed Grapefruit

IMG_0316

I don’t usually eat grapefruit. I’ll juice it once in a while but I won’t slice one in half and dig in. But if someone tells me to smother it in sugar and stick it under the broiler, then I’ll go out and buy 6 of them. Which is what I did here. 6 for $1.99 to be exact. I tried the recipe out with a substitution since I can’t use brown sugar right now (diet). I used about 1 tablespoon of agave syrup instead. I’m sure the results were not as yummy as they could have been but they were still yummy nonetheless. The grapefruit was very juicy and the carmelized, warm syrup was a delicious contrast to the bitter grapefruit. Nice for breakfast. Here’s the original pin and here’s the recipe:

Recipe courtesy of pastryaffair.com

Ingredients

1 ripe grapefruit, cut in half
2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed (or agave syrup)
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch of cloves

Directions

Loosen grapefruit segments slightly with a paring knife or spoon, cutting only an inch down. Place grapefruits cut side up onto a baking sheet.

In a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar and spices. Spread evenly over the top of the halved grapefruits. Place the baking sheet on the top shelf of the oven and broil the grapefruits for 4-6 minutes, or until the sugar has completely melted. Watch very closely! Alternatively, you can use a kitchen torch and melt the sugar, though it will not heat the grapefruits as thoroughly.

Serve immediately.

238 to go……….

One thought on “Pin 239, Bruleed Grapefruit

Leave a Reply

