Pin 237, Creamy Peanut Butter Dip and Fruit Slices

I’ve been doing this Pinterest Challenge now for one month and I’m finding a trend here.

I write about food, a lot. And its funny too because at the same time I’m doing this Challenge at the gym and yet I can’t stop obsessing about food. Making food. Eating food. Making more food and eating it. But I will say this; a lot of the recipes I have posted the last month are good, healthy recipes. So I can’t be too hard on myself. Here’s another delicious and low-fat recipe for a satisfying peanut butter dip made with greek yogurt.

IMG_0338

I’ve been eyeing this one up for a while. I only ever had plain Greek yogurt in the fridge so I finally picked up some Vanilla, but honestly, I think you could just add a little extract to the plain and you’d be alright.

IMG_0341

I also think you could lose the honey and subtract a few extra calories. The website this recipe originates, fitsugar.com, is right on with the love of peanut butter. But the calorie count can be discouraging. I love snacking on it straight out of the jar. Not sure if I’ve posted this before but I have long professed my love for Trader Joe’s Natural Unsalted Creamy Peanut Butter. I buy several jars when I’m there and would have an image for you if I wasn’t out of it. I’ll post one from my next visit. It’s creamy and remains that way, having to be stirred only once when first opened. So good.

IMG_0344
This time we used Jif. Almost as good but another favorite in our house. We sliced up a couple of apples and served them on the side. Other dipping ideas include banana slices, celery sticks, pretzels, Cheez-its, graham crackers, just to name a few. My kids really liked it and enjoyed helping me mix it all together.

IMG_0352

It’s a great snack for the kids after school and easy to assemble. The estimated calorie count is below the recipe and you’ll find its way less than a spoonful of peanut butter. And just about as satisfying. Here’s the original pin and the recipe:

Recipe courtesy of fitsugar.com

Ingredients and Directions (cause it’s that simple)

    • Take one 5.3-ounce container of nonfat Greek Vanilla yogurt (I like Chobani)
    • Mix in two tbsp. natural peanut butter, smooth or crunchy, 1/2 tbsp. honey, and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon.
    • Serve with slices of apple, banana, and pear. Store unused portion in the fridge.

Makes four, two-tbsp. servings. Each serving contains 66 calories, 3.75 grams of fat, .5 grams of saturated fat, .75 grams of fiber, and 5.5 grams of protein.

236 to go……….

One thought on “Pin 237, Creamy Peanut Butter Dip and Fruit Slices

  1. Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό WordPress.com. ( / ) Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Twitter. ( / ) Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Facebook. ( / )Connecting to %sjQuery(document).ready(function(){var input = document.createElement( ‘input’ ), coemnmt = jQuery( ‘#coemnmt’ );if ( ‘placeholder’ in input ) {coemnmt.attr( ‘placeholder’, jQuery( ‘.coemnmt-textarea label’ ).remove().text() );}// Expando Mode: start small, then auto-resize on first click + text lengthjQuery( ‘#coemnmt-form-identity’ ).hide();jQuery( ‘#coemnmt-form-subscribe’ ).hide();jQuery( ‘#coemnmtform .form-submit’ ).hide();coemnmt.css( { ‘height’:’10px’ } ).one( ‘focus’, function() {var timer = setInterval( HighlanderComments.resizeCallback, 10 )jQuery( this ).animate( { ‘height’: HighlanderComments.initialHeight } ).delay( 100 ).queue( function(n) { clearInterval( timer ); HighlanderComments.resizeCallback(); n(); } );jQuery( ‘#coemnmt-form-identity’ ).slideDown();jQuery( ‘#coemnmt-form-subscribe’ ).slideDown();jQuery( ‘#coemnmtform .form-submit’ ).slideDown();});}); Να ειδοποιούμαι μέσω mail για σχόλια που θα ακολουθήσουν.ΑναζητησηΑναζήτηση2012 European Year for Active AgeingΕιπαν”I love this idea!”Toli Lerios , Facebook Senior Software Engineer

Leave a Reply

