Pin 234, Grilled Honey Lemon Chicken

IMG_0400

Since entering this weight loss challenge I have tried to increase my protein intake. So I try to get in as much as I can throughout the day and chicken is about the easiest source of protein to prepare for dinner. But I’m getting bored with my recipes so I found this one that I could easily tweek with the ingredients I had on hand. Originally honey lime chicken, I substituted lemons because that’s what I had. Instead of an outdoor grill I used my George Forman which comes in handy during the winter months and makes cooking low-fat meals possible. I served the chicken, sliced over a quinoa salad that I kinda threw together using whatever was in the fridge. The chicken was very moist and I used the leftovers for a wrap the next day. I think this marinade could also be nice on a white fish like tilapia and grilled the same way or sautéed in a pan with a little bit of olive oil. Here’s the original pin and here’s the recipe:

PS: this is a great weeknight meal for the family.

Recipe courtesy of unsophisticook.com

Yield: 4 chicken breasts

 Ingredients:
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon lime or lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon fresh garlic, chopped or pressed
  • 4 large chicken breasts, whole or sliced

Instructions:

  1. Add soy sauce, lime or lemon juice, olive oil, honey, and garlic to a small bowl in that order (the olive oil will help the honey slide right out of the spoon). Whisk together thoroughly.
  2. Place chicken in a large Ziploc bag and pour the marinade in. Marinate in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. I prefer to do it for about four hours.
  3. After marinating, grill chicken over high heat for about five minutes per side for slices or seven minutes per side for whole breasts, until cooked through.

Note: If you are cooking on a George Forman grill, preheat to 425 and cook for about the same time, until cooked through.

Quinoa Salad (serves 4 sides)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 red, orange or yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 cup cooked edamame beans
  • 1 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions

Heat 1 Tablespoon olive oil in saute pan. Add onion, peppers and garlic and cook on medium heat till soft, about 8 minutes. Meanwhile using a whisk, mix together soy sauce, lemon juice and olive oil in a small bowl. Set aside. Add cooked quinoa to onion/pepper mix and heat till warm. Add edamame and soy sauce/lemon mix. Cook till heated through. Season with salt and pepper. Serve warm.

233 to go…….

One thought on “Pin 234, Grilled Honey Lemon Chicken

  1. is absolutely right. Anyone who needs to atcatk another clearly has some issues of their own. I hope they find happiness within themselves, and direct that energy into something positive instead of hurting others. Bullying from behind the safety and protection of the web, where you don’t get to see the pain in the face of those you try to hurt it’s pretty pathetic in my view, but unfortunately it has lead to recent suicides, and lots of pain for many. theBerry is a place of positivity and encouragement, shame on those who bring negativity. I wish you all the best GB, and focus on yourself and your health. Hope to see you back soon

Leave a Reply

