Pin 233, Quinoa Burger

I’m not sure I would use the word burger in this recipe. To me, that implies some sort of juicy, succulent meat, grilled to perfection, served on a soft bun and topped with god knows what deliciousness. There ain’t no meat here kiddies.

IMG_0440

Maybe Quinoa Patties. That’s better. Don’t get me wrong. They are tasty in a very subtle way. I thought the addition of cheese would give it some buttery, salty flavor but I didn’t get that here.

IMG_0442

It’s a veggie patty so that’s what it tastes like. It’s soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. A nice compliment of textures and flavors.

IMG_0428

I served mine on these Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Everything Bagel Slims. At 110 calories, they added a nice addition of everything bagelness.

IMG_0437

I also added some arugula and avocado to round out the sandwich. Since each patty is only about 132 calories, I needed a little something extra to tide me over till my next snack.

IMG_0423

I made a couple substitutions in my recipe since I did not have some of the ingredients on hand. Instead of cottage cheese I used part-skim ricotta cheese and I used chopped red onion instead of scallions. I also eliminated the sugar.

IMG_0427

This recipe makes about 10 patties and I’m hoping the batter will survive the week so that I may eat one each day for lunch. This could be a nice snack too and a delicious appetizer if the patties were made a little smaller and served with some spicy, creamy dipping sauce. Maybe a post for the future? Here’s the original pin and here’s the recipe:

Recipe courtesy of eatingwelllivingthin.wordpress.com

2 rounded cups cooked quinoa (see note below for cooking instructions)

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (or other variety, if you prefer)

1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese

1 medium carrot, finely grated (OR 1 cup shredded zucchini, squeezed dry)

3 eggs

3 tablespoons all purpose flour

2 green onions, including white parts

1 /2 teaspoon Splenda or sugar

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon garlic powder

Olive oil for frying

.

To cook quinoa for the above recipe:

1 cup uncooked quinoa

2 cups water

1/2 teaspoon salt

In a medium saucepan bring the 2 cups water and 1/2 teaspoon salt to a boil over high heat.  Add quinoa and reduce heat to low.  Cover and cook for 18-20 minutes, or until all water is absorbed and the seeds are tender.  Allow to cool for a few minutes.

In a large bowl combine the 2 rounded cups of cooked quinoa, cheddar cheese, cottage cheese, carrot, eggs, flour, green onions, Splenda, pepper, cumin, salt, and garlic powder.

(To help them stay in patty form and not fall apart, I cook them on med-low slowly so they have longer to set-up without burning.  Makes them easier to flip, too.)  Heat a frying pan and a couple teaspoons olive oil over medium-low heat.  Mixture will be slightly sticky, so using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, drop mixture into pan and lightly flatten to 1/2 inch thick.  Fry until golden-brown, about 4 minutes on each side.   Makes approx. 10 burgers.

Per burger:  Calories 132; Protein 8 g; Fat 5 g; NET Carbs 12 g; (Fiber 2 g); Sugar 0 g; Sodium 200 mg

232 to go………….

3 thoughts on “Pin 233, Quinoa Burger

  1. Whipped Almond ShealoeIngredients1 tbsp Unrefined Shea Butter1 tbsp Aloe Vera Gel1 tbsp Coconut Oil1 tbsp Almond Extract (Yes the kind that you buy at the grocery store)1 tsp Glycerin1 tsp HoneyFew drops of Vanilla Essential OilInstructions:Melt Shea Butter in dbloue boiler or place shea butter in a mason jar and place the jar in a pot of water. Heat shea butter at 175D for 20 minutes. This will keep the shea butter from crystallizing (gritty feeling). Pour shea butter into a container and place in freezer for 10 minutes. Take out whip. Place back into freezer. Continue doing this until shea butter resembles buttercreme frosting. Pour in all ingredients and whip together.

  2. I have been wanting to get #3 foverer but they don’t sell it in the Netherlands! Does anyone know if I can get it in Nova Scotia, Canada? This post though reminds me that I need to go buy lingerie soon. Similar to #10 would be nice.

Leave a Reply

