New Pin 231, Red Velvet Puppy Chow

Well yesterday’s post was a little embarrassing. When I started the post I thought, “Yeah, I should write-up one of the cakes I made for my bride and groom. Since Valentine’s Day is coming, definitely Red Velvet.” Well, guess what dingbat, you wrote that one up last week! Classic! So here is my rewrite of Pin 231. Scratch the last pin, or use the recipe. It’s so good, I posted it twice!

IMG_0600

I thought it would be nice to make something for Riley’s teachers, the school nurse and her bus driver for Valentine’s Day. I bought a stack of red Chinese take out containers at an end of Christmas sale for the purpose of filling them with something delicious for Valentine’s Day. I found this recipe and knew this was the one to make. I figure you can’t go wrong with Chex Mix and M&M’s.

IMG_0568

It’s a very simple recipe that requires little cooking, if you count using the microwave as cooking.

IMG_0572

There are only a few, affordable ingredients that you probably have in your pantry and fridge and it makes a good amount. Even more if you double the recipe.

IMG_0588

Or in my case, make a second batch using pretzels instead of Chex Mix. I combined the two batches to make a Chex/Pretzel Puppy Chow mix. Genius I thought. The saltiness with the sweet is a nice touch.

IMG_0594

I opted out on the addition of the cream cheese because I did not want to refrigerate mine. But I’m sure that ingredient will add to the overall flavor.

IMG_0616

I added some Dove chocolates into the box to add a little color. I found my chow to be a little gray looking so the pop of color from the M&M’s and Doves do help. Here’s hoping they love them! One warning: It’s addictive! Here’ the original pin and here’s the recipe:

Recipe courtesy of yourcupofcake.com

Ingredients

5 C. Rice Chex cereal
3/4 C. white chocolate melts or chips
1/4 C. chocolate melts or chips
2 oz cream cheese, room temp
1 1/2 Tbsp. milk
1 C. Red Velvet Cake mix
1/2 C. powdered sugar
Valentines colored M&M’s or other candies
Heart sprinkles for extra decoration and cute-ness

Directions

1. Measure out Rice Chex cereal and place into a large bowl.
2. Place cake mix and powdered sugar into a large plastic bag or tupperware with a lid.
3. Melt chocolates together in the microwave or on the stove top. Careful not to burn and stir until smooth.
4. Stir in cream cheese and milk (the chocolate will get thicker, but it’s okay)
5. Pour chocolate over Rice Chex cereal and stir until coated.
6. Dump cereal into the bag or tupperware with powdered sugar and cake mix. Shake, shake, shake until coated.
7. Dump onto a cookie sheet and let cool.
8. Mix with extra colorful candies and serve!
NOTE: Because of the cream cheese, keep in the fridge if you won’t be eating them that day. You can also omit the cream cheese all together if you wish…if you do that, you don’t need the milk either!
230 to go….again……

Leave a comment