Pin 220 & 219, Homemade Buttery Bisquick and 7UP Biscuits

I went into the city with my friend to celebrate her birthday and for brunch the next morning we hit up this place in the Bronx, the Clock Bar. The service was interesting, a bit condescending, they could not accommodate any substitutions, and I mean any, and they did not have ketchup. The ketchup thing was really weird considering they served home fries. Bizarre. But a menu item that everyone at the table ordered was the biscuits served with butter and honey. I’m sorry I don’t have a picture to post but let me tell you, they were delicious.

IMG_0888

With those buttery biscuits on my mind since then, I found this four ingredient recipe for biscuits that sounded good. I should have known they would not come close since one of ingredients is 7UP but, I figured I’d try them anyway.

IMG_0880

I found that I was out of Bisquick so I made my own using a recipe I found on Pinterest. Very simple to make with just a few ingredients.

IMG_0873

Recipe courtesy of campwander.blogspot.com

DIY Bisquick

Ingredients
2  C flour
1  t. baking powder
1  t. sugar
1/2  t. salt
1  stick of butter

Combine all ingredients, cut in the butter with a food processor or a pastry cutter and store in the refrigerator up to 4 months.  A single recipe fit a quart jar very nicely.

So the Bisquick was made and now for the biscuits. I realized I was missing one other key ingredient to the recipe, 7UP. I used the only substitution I had, and it was Fresca. You read me right. Fresca. Closest thing to 7UP in my house. So maybe that’s why my biscuits were less than amazing.

IMG_0875

I was hoping for a buttery, sweet, light and cakey biscuit but I got a dense, flat somewhat tasteless roll whose texture was almost undercooked. The kids and my husband liked them nonetheless but they hadn’t had those  buttery sweet restaurant biscuits to compare them to. So they weren’t a total loss. I will probably attempt them again but with the 7UP and maybe additional sugar sprinkled on top.

Recipe courtesy of monstermama.com

Ingredients

2 c Bisquick mix
1/2 c sour cream
1/2 c 7up
1/4 c melted butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 450º. Cut sour cream into your Bisquick mix, then add 7up – it will make a soft dough. Now sprinkle your counter with a little Bisquick mix then add dough and pat it out. Melt butter and pour it into a 9″ square baking pan. Cut your biscuits up and arrange them in pan on top of melted butter. Bake 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.

218 to go…………

3 thoughts on “Pin 220 & 219, Homemade Buttery Bisquick and 7UP Biscuits

  1. my kids love red lobster for their bicuists THANK YOU!!!!you just saved me and my husband about 150$ they dont care what i serve them with so i’ll buy my own fish or shrimp make a salad and these wonderful bicuists THANK YOU if you have any other great reciepes please share i love simple cooking im disabild now at 40 and i have to stay at home all the time i love easy stuff that tastes great

Leave a Reply

