Pin 205, Rosemary Gin Rickey

I found my new drink.

IMG_1260

I’ve had a handful of mixed drinks that I’ve ordered on a regular basis. Vodka Sour was one for a while, Mojito was another. I don’t like Martinis and I usually order a vodka drink if any. But this one sounded so unique and delicious. I made the simple syrup last week and the smell permeated the house. Loved it. I finally got all the ingredients together to try it out.

IMG_1257

The combination of flavors is so delightful. Yes, its delightful. And the smell and flavor of the rosemary lingers after you’ve guzzeled down your sip. Let me just say, I bought two little bottles of Bombay Gin and I’m making a second cocktail as soon as this post is up. Done. Scuse me while I get my drink on.

Recipe courtesy of Designsponge.com

Rosemary Simple Syrup

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 sprigs fresh rosemary

Over medium-high heat, mix together the water and sugar in a saucepan and place rosemary sprigs in the mixture.  Bring to a boil and boil for about 1 minute or until the sugar has dissolved. Remove from heat and let stand for 30 minutes. Strain the mixture and place in an airtight container. Store in the refrigerator for up to 1 month.

Rosemary Gin Rickey
Makes 1

  • 1 ounce lime juice
  • 1 ounce rosemary simple syrup
  • 1.5 ounces gin
  • ice
  • club soda
  • rosemary sprigs for garnish

Fill a collins glass with ice, then pour in the lime juice, simple syrup and gin. Top with club soda and insert a sprig of rosemary as a garnish. Enjoy!

204 to go……..

Leave a Reply

