Pin 204, Toilet Paper Roll Bird Feeder

I’ve been saving up discarded toilet paper and paper towel rolls for a while now so its time to make the bird feeders with Riley. As soon as the weather starting warming up, all the little birds came flocking to our forsythia bush that lines the side of the house. We have several bird houses nearby that they build their nests in every year and throughout the season. I know you’re supposed to feed them in the winter when food is scarce but its always nice to welcome them back with a nice treat. This is a great craft to do with the kids and I love the idea of using something that you would normally toss out. I’ve made similar bird feeders using pine cones as well but these are a little easier to hang since they slide right onto branches.
IMG_1179

Here’s everything you need to make these environmentally friendly bird feeders:

  1. toilet and/or paper towel rolls
  2. smooth peanut butter
  3. bird seed
  4. a kid that isn’t allergic to peanuts and loves to get messy

IMG_1180 IMG_1181

First things first, put your peanut butter into a bowl so that you’re not dipping back into the container. Then put your bird seed into a container for easy rolling. Start by spreading a thin layer of peanut butter all over your roll.

IMG_1184 IMG_1185 IMG_1186

Then dip the coated roll in your bird seed. Roll it around and coat it completely. Riley liked this part better than spreading the peanut butter. She’ll pick up worms all day but she doesn’t like  peanut butter on her hands.

IMG_1187 IMG_1192Now your finished. That was easy right?

IMG_1197Slip them over branches throughout your yard and watch the birds flock to your place. Remove them when they’re spent and toss them in the trash. Here’s the original Pin.

203 to go……….

One thought on “Pin 204, Toilet Paper Roll Bird Feeder

  1. I joined the gym with my frneid this month and can’t believe how great it is. I’m not overweight but for someone my age I’m pretty out of shape, especially health-wise. I just can’t wait to tone. The first couple of times it hurt, but it feels better and better every day, and once I get going I don’t want to stop. It’s actually one of the highlights of my day. I think finding someone to go with is so important, it’s really helped me greatly. I can already feel myself getting happier. It’s such an important change to make.

Leave a Reply

